If I Stay by Gayle Forman Review

→Series; If I Stay series
→Genre; Young Adult-Fiction, Romance
→Pages; 210
→Age; 14+
→Rate; ☆☆

img_4932-2

On a day that started like any other Mia had everything: a loving family, a gorgeous, adoring boyfriend, and a bright future full of music and full of choices. Then, in an instant, almost all of that is taken from her. Caught between life and death, between a happy past and an unknowable future, Mia spends one critical day contemplating the one decision she has left—the most important decision she’ll ever make. Simultaneously tragic and hopeful, this is a romantic, riveting and ultimately uplifting story about memory, music, living, dying, loving.

img_4933-3

‘If I Stay’ has been a huge hype so of course I had to read it. I currently read ‘Where She Went’ – the sequel – but ‘If I Stay’ has been a while ago so correct me if I’m wrong. I know it’s quite an unpopular opinion to say;  but I actually didn’t like the book. At first I hardly understood how Mia was a “ghost” and stuff and secondly I thought it was a boring book. I just didn’t like the concept. I don’t like Mia as the main character, her attitudes just seem like she – sorry to say this – almost doesn’t give a shit. I liked ‘Where She Went’ so much more because this was written in Adam’s point of view and I like him better as a person. I was actually kind of disappointed because I waited very long to read the book. And now I’m going to say something I’ll never ever ever say again in my whole life; “I even liked the movie better than the book.” Yes I know, the books are always better, but with this book I’m not entirely sure.

Sorry if you don’t like my opinion on this book but aye, that’s what an opinion is right? Comment below what you thought of the book and what your opinions are on this review! (I’m sorry we didn’t post yesterday on our normal posting day, but Tom is having a very busy week with school because he has testweek. Instead you get me posting again ayyee)

Also, HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!

img_4934

Leave a Reply

